Reviews For Wild Horses
Title: Unbroken

So... my jaw hit the floor. Wow. I love this. I love LOVE this. More of this. I'd love to see the counterpart story to this. Please!!!

Reviewer: needlepoint Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 15/11/17 03:50 am
Title: Unbroken

I don't know how I missed this one. You said you've written other stories in which Jarod is gay or pansexual or transgender. In this he isn't either of those things or you don't label him anyway but I think, and you can correct me if I'm wrong, that you aren't a person who labels others. I don't think Jarod is gay in this fic and I do think you would have clarified. I think Lyle is trying to distract Jarod.

It's a stunning piece Mirage. Gorgeous. There is solace in wild things but it can take work. It's good to see Jarod giving Lyle the attention he gave Ethan and Kyle. Your explanation as to why Jarod tends to Lyle instead of Miss Parker is haunting. I'd like to read that piece. Also I noticed that you've deleted a fic or two. Please don't delete your work.

Reviewer: Michael Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 23/06/17 01:12 am
Title: Unbroken

^^^^Correction^^^ My review went weird on me.

It should read that Jarod comes off as cocky on the tv series sometimes when he saves the day. Anyway, I hope this posts correctly.



Author's Response:

No worries, Angela.

Reviewer: Angela Penn Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/03/17 12:37 am
Title: Unbroken

This is a treasure! This is NOW my favorite story of yours.... my favorite 1 chapter story of yours anyway.

"There is solace in wild things."

"..horses are all what they are: wild; he doesn't take that from them."

"he feels something inside him begin to splinter, break.. he in turn wants to break something"(Oh Mirage but it's true that broken people want to break people and wounded animals are dangerous).

I love that Jarod doesn't break or beat animals (human ones included) into submission. He doesn't try to take the wildness from them.

Lyle can't stop because Lyle is sick. It could be his mum's mental problems or the child abuse he suffered and being locked up in a shed as a child or all of those things that made him a monster. I don't know why Jarod didn't try to help Lyle like he helped Ethan and Kyle during the tv series.

I just want to add that you really captured Jarod and Lyle and their spirits, their humanity and characters...all of it, and you always do, but it was so much clearer in this story, even more so than in the past stories...but this IS a past story. I see now that this was the first thing you ever wrote of the pretender. Fascinating story Mirage and so brief. Jarod thinks he's just keeping a promise..I love that humility. He comes off as cocky I'm intrigued about the mention of the companion piece. I'd like to know at least if Lyle killed Miss Parker in the companion piece. Could you post it too? Please?



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing, Angela. I posted this and forgot about it and checked in here after deciding to delete the thing and now you're telling me it's your favorite single chapter Mirage fic? Darn.

I may eventually post the piece. I will answer your question: No. He almost killed her. Two characters will never die: Broots. Miss Parker.

 

Reviewer: Angela Penn Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/03/17 12:33 am
Title: Unbroken

OOooh wow. That's all I got right now. More please?

Author's Response:

Thanks for reading and reviewing, Melinda. I'm afraid there is no more of this (actually, I'm quite relieved).

Reviewer: Melinda Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/03/17 10:33 pm
Title: Unbroken

I wish I was a writer so I could tell you how much I love this. But I'll leave it to you dear. Splendid, Mirage. It is a pleasure to read your work.

Author's Response:

You are a writer. You wrote a review and I enjoyed it. That's a start. I give your review five stars. Thanks for reading and the generous review.

Reviewer: Miss Parkere Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/03/17 06:34 am
Title: Unbroken

Woot woot! I love you!!! Unbelievable writing. You made my week with this! I was so sure it was Miss Parker groping at Jarod's zipper and kissing him. I'm bowled over Mirage. You said so much in under 800 words and I love every word. OMG! I'm so grateful to you!

Author's Response:

Love right back at you, Chloe. Thank you for the r&r.

Reviewer: Chloe Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/03/17 02:11 am
Title: Unbroken

Readalicious like always Mirage. Thank you so much!

Author's Response:

Thank you, Gunner.

Reviewer: Gunner Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/03/17 11:11 pm
Title: Unbroken

Profound! I'd like to read more of this style, a more forgiving and compassionate Jarod. I love the idea that he's working with horses, helping abused animals, helping abused Lyle. Craig and Steve should have explored more of that and had Jarod try to help Lyle who did experience more abuse than Jarod ever did, and more abuse than Kyle and Ethan. It was so weird that Jarod wanted to help Ethan and Kyle and abused people but overlooked Lyle and the hell he survived. The abuse he suffered and his mother Catherine's mental illness figures here a great deal if I'm not wrong. That kiss. Wow. I never thought of shipping Jarod and Lyle. The mind reals. I can see them hooking up at least once now. Thank you for this glimpse at your early work. Brilliant stuff Mirage.

Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing, Christoph. You're very generous but- and please don't take this the wrong way- while your comments are well intended I'm sure and you are simply conveying what you want the creators to explore this isn't the place. It's inappropriate to be critical of someone else in a review for my fic. I'm not competing with anyone (except myself). I don't want to be compared with the men who created this series. I am not their enemy. Nor am I eager to acquire enemies. The mention of them casts a shadow on the positive comments you wrote. This is a fanmily- we don't want a dysfunctional fanmily, do we? No, we don't.

The spice of life right? Some people might believe that Lyle is beyond redemption/rehabilitation (raises hand). Also, Jarod isn't Lyle's keeper, and yes, now I'm arguing against my own fic. I could easily contradict and tear apart all of my fics. This is just something I wrote. It's not the end all be all or the only way the story can go or something I want to see transpire or even something I believe is plausible. Let's play nice. Please.

Reviewer: Christoph Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/03/17 08:54 pm
Title: Unbroken

It's nice to see your true colors. I think people might have been offended by this. Now not so much. I had a feeling you didn't always write Jarod-Parker stories you just only posted mostly Jarod-Parker stories. Beautiful. Thank you for sharing your talent with us and congratulations.

Author's Response:

Hi and thanks for the r&r, Jen. I get requests mostly for the Parker-Jarod. You're absolutely correct. 

Reviewer: Jen Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/03/17 04:16 am
Title: Unbroken

Damnnnn girl that was crazy amazing. I'm glad Jarod doesn't wear the 10 gal hat and all that crap. I've been around horses all my life and I don't even wear boots unless it's raining. This is totally accurate too. Horses choose what they do and many that have been so called broken will throw an idiot to the ground if they chose to. I like the way you tie the "solace in wild things" to Lyle and I guess to Jarod as well who feels something begin "to splinter, break" but he doesn't break and he doesn't break Lyle. Broken people like to break people and there is nothing more dangerous than a wounded animal or abused animal. They aren't afraid to die. I love this.So profound. Thanks for sharing your very fist story ever with us. I have wondered. It's beautiful, shows Jarod's humanity and mercy. And the kiss was wow jaw dropping. More please?

Reviewer: TheDarkAngel Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/03/17 02:44 am
Title: Unbroken

Ooooh uhuh! Honey honey honey! I love this. I want to read what happened in the other story that lead to Jarod stepping in and breaking nothing. LOVE.

Reviewer: Monica_Bitch Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/03/17 08:25 pm
Title: Unbroken

Oh. My. God. I love this. I'm still around and I read you like crazy. This might be my favorite story of yours. As much as I love Jarod-Parkership I am crazy for Jarod-lyle. More. Please post more of this.

Reviewer: pretenderoxx Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/03/17 09:18 am
Title: Unbroken

Poignant and succinct. You are an extremely gifted author, even right out of the gate ...pun intended.. with this first story. The theme is unbroken. Horses, promises, Lyle, and the young woman presumably Korean bearing the takeout food Lyle ordered. She could have been destoryed. No one could blame Jarod for putting Lyle down and breaking him. You've touched on Parker's potential mental issue inherited from Catherine in past stories but only after reading this did I remember that Lyle could have the same illness as Catherine. He is insane. Wow. I want to read the companion piece.

"He tastes his own blood; it does not slake his thrist; it is not his own blood he craved"

Reviewer: Amelia Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/03/17 06:51 am


Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.