Reviews For Sweet Dreams
Title: Shades of J

Still no sequel to this? Comeon.

Reviewer: Monica_Bitch Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 13/08/19 11:27 pm
Title: Shades of J

Hi there. I'm a bit of a lurker who happened to find you in the twitter traffic about your writing and you being a follower of RAINN on twitter. I'm not sure if you received my email but I wanted you to know my feelings about this outstanding work and this isn't just a review for this work but Forces of Nature and Circles of Hell as well.

Reading these three distinct works has been sometimes been a painful but amazing journey. These are each manifestos in consensual sex, what is consensual and what crosses the lines, blurs the line. At times you allowed the lines to blur for  the story's sake but you always brought things fiercely into focus.

One thing I want to tell you is that I've read 50 Shades of Gray and was passionately disappointed and all in a rage and I'm still pretty pissed off about it.

I had reservations about reading this and I've never heard of fanfiction . I don't like to refer to your work as fanfiction.  You are writing fiction, you are writing wonderfully and you are using these characters as just vehicles to say what needs to be said, to drive your point home and with a really powerful thud of the bat.

First, this story, Sweet Dreams, was consensual and the internal dialouge, both the male and female roles in this made it obvious. Even though she signed those little boxes, it was all really clear that nothing was going to happen that the female here didn't want to happen. You could've said "oh she gets what she deserves for chasing him there" but you couldn't and your male character Jarod didn't either and he came across as a likeable guy unlike the Christian Gray the asshole.

The buzz about 50 Shades of Gray might have caught your muse's attention but you handled this nicely and I respect you for it. Let me add here that your writing is far more superior and the story is so much better.

I read some of your other stories and you are a genius. You had something to say or your muse did and as difficult as it is things won't change if we don't change it and that's what you are doing. Keep doing it please!

The approaches you took to explaining and outlining all the different types of consent and then coercion and untangling any blurred lines to achieve clarity. It was subtle and didn't even hit me what you'd accomplished here until 2 whole days later. I went "oooh" in the middle of a mid-morning Monday meeting and had to come back here immediately.

In Forces Of Nature which contains rape.... it's not the kind of rape most people associate with rape or what they think of as rape. I noticed that some of your readers were thinking that the man's actions, Jarod's actions were not so horrific and couldn't be classified as rape but then in later chapters you explain through Jarod's remorse that it wasn't consensual. You explained that she relented to him because of intimidation and fear and in her passivity it was clearly not consensual sex and that it didn't matter if they'd had previous relations. That never matters. Rape can occur at any point , after consensual sex or many nights and years of consensual sex during marriage.

SO many people don't understand that only clear consent is consensual sex. Consensual sex isn't obtained through intimidation or the woman passing out or being too afraid to say no. Consensual sex is not passive, silent or given with reluctance. You even had him explain to her that the body responds, that even though she might have enjoyed certain elements it was rape. You nailed this difficult topic with grace and style.

Secondly Circles of Hell. We see cycles of emotional, physical, and sexual abuse. These psychological thrillers are all consuming, they are painful and they aren't pulled off well by many authors but you show how the cycles spin out and how it can repeat and then repeat again and again and the fact that you used a strong woman to convey these subtle messages is awe inspiring.

You write intelligently and beautiful. Really lyrical. If it can happen to her it can happen to anyone. Unlike Anastasia Steele, this Parker woman hates him for what he did to her, recognizes the act as rape and then gets sucked back in anyway. It happens all the time this way.

I respect that you don't glorfiy rape or abuse. You show that women can be victimized and still be promiscous, you detail denial and perhaps a touch of mental illness that accompanies long term emotional abuse and denial. You don't slut shame. You didn't victim blame. You outline the question of termination with clarity and detail and we see the damage in both Forces of Nature and in Circles of Hell.

I feared that Forces and Circles were both a lead up to killing the rapist and that you went through all that to make us hate him so fans wouldn't care if you kill him. I'm glad I kept reading because that's not what you did at all here. You show the damage, the way it can morph and compound over the years. It's jolting, bracing and it doesn't end. Therapy can't fix it, years can't erase it. Time doesn't heal all wounds. It doesn't.

I was once one of those who judged women who aborted for any reason but reading these circumstances, seeing the scope of damage, feeling like I'm the Parker woman, and especially the added horror of his being able to hunt her down, abduct her and force her to have the baby and stay with him forever....oh shit...Yeah, I feel, it would change any reader's mind, if their mind is rational and they aren't completely brainwashed and stupid.

I just felt pulled to say something to you and it's hard to do that and be brief so I hope that it is ok with you. Thanks for writing these. Really Mirage this is powerful stuff.

Reviewer: Adriana Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 17/02/15 01:06 am
Title: Shades of J

Wowsa! That was one hot mess babes. I wait on pins and needles [pun intended] for more of your writing.

Reviewer: Lorraina Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 15/03/14 08:06 pm
Title: On Pins And Needles A.K.A. Shocked And Owned

WOW. I read this three times..I am blown away by your writing and by what you've written..and by how IN character they are, how fleshed out and real this is. I love her warning in the end, she gets his ass and only then does he get hers lol..mirage that is awesome but her ownership of him is amazing. Oh man, I need a cold shower. More, please?

 



Author's Response:

Ha, a cold shower? Brr. Not me, not while hot water exists. I'm glad you enjoyed, hope you truly enjoyed it. Thanks, Contessa.

Reviewer: Contessa Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/03/14 03:23 am
Title: On Pins And Needles A.K.A. Shocked And Owned

WOW! Actually that's not nearly descriptive enough. That was AMAZING! AWESOME! Incredibly HOT! It was everything I hoped you would write and so much more. You are not only the BEST Pretender fan fiction author EVER!!! But one of the BEST S&M authors I've ever read!

Thank you for updating this story!! I absolutely (if that was not pointedly clear) LOVED this chapter! The ending is a bit of a tease but my imagination is in overdrive right now. If it ends here so be it but more is welcome! Thanks again. It's always a pleasure to read your work 



Author's Response:

I give your review a ten, Twisted. Brilliant. Brilliant! I feel so unworthy of your reviews, however, I can't articulate how appreciative I am. You shouldn't encourage me. Now, of course, I am going to write more- and that can't be good. Thank you for the incredible reviews, Twisted.

Reviewer: twisted Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 10/03/14 02:12 am
Title: Shades of J

Dont ever stop writing. This is amazing and I want more!

Reviewer: Christoph Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/03/14 09:01 pm
Title: On Pins And Needles A.K.A. Shocked And Owned

OH MY GODD! This chapter is so hot and so well written too. Whow damn girl. Jarod got Shocked AND OWNED for REAL too. I love it. I love that she owned his ass... uhh what an ass he has. The last words were brilliant. Thank YOU for updating this. bout damn time! NO, This can't be the end. MORE, please. Can't they claim each other's ass? Please!!



Author's Response:

These reviews are excellent. *note to self: write more SMUT/BDSM* I think it is only fair that men who want anal sex should first be on the receiving end. Er. Oh no, we're chatting about anal sex. There goes the fandom!

Thank you, O Dark One. Um, of course they can claim each other's ass; in fact, I think you should get started right away on penning that one for us. Ha. *evil laughter*

Reviewer: TheDarkAngel Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/03/14 08:48 pm
Title: Shades of J

Oh my..that was so hot. I want more and more.



Author's Response:

And you will get it, Archange. With reviews like these how could I stop writing? Thank you so much for reading and reviewing and THAT rating. I'm not worthy.

Reviewer: Archange Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/08/13 07:54 am
Title: Shades of J

OH MY GOD. I thought I'd reviewed this but I don't see it. Mirage, this was incredible. YOu have got to let him be her first you know back door like JarodandParkerForever said in her review, you know what and you know where down there. Seriously Jarod and Parker have never had that kind of sex, you know, down there. Oh My God. It's not that kinky and it's very normal. DO IT. Please!



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading and reviewing, Christoph. Haha, yes I know what you mean, anal sex and um, I don't know about anal sex. I've read about it once (stealing lines from Jarod now). I know it's not kinky, I've read papers but I just- I really don't know. I think the muse has something else in mind. I could write you something and email it to you but you'd have to promise to never ever say it came from me. I'm such a coward.

Reviewer: Christoph Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 30/07/13 09:47 pm
Title: Warmer?

I'm fanning myself. Mirage that was satisfying. Thank you. You could totally let them go ahead and do the real nasty back door luv. The prudes might die if you do that but I think Jarod could do it right. Please update this soon before I DIE lol.

 



Author's Response:

Ah, well, I aim to please  haha. I don't know about- back door? Oh, dear. The update is in the works.

Reviewer: JarodAndParkerForever Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 24/07/13 10:22 pm
Title: Ties That Bind

Aww. I love how sweet he was with her when she began crying. See? It's all a pretend. This is what I'm talking about. He loves her but can't let that show on the outside. And what's this Fire At Will and Reload lol. The next update better have some sex already!



Author's Response:

Thanks again. Um, well, yeah, fan fic for me is just that: fiction. Do I believe Jarod would ever acquire the brass to pull off such a stunt? No.

Reviewer: JarodAndParkerForever Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 24/07/13 10:05 pm
Title: Shades of J

OH MY GOD! I just discovered you while reading twitter gossip lol! I came here to look for you and there you were in recent fics. I just want to say that you have captured Jarod and Parker and their dysfunction beautifully, their snark, angst and true feelings. All of it. I love smut. I love angst. I love dark fics. And this is just chapter ONE. Mirage, you have a new fan! Are you on twitter?



Author's Response:

Thank you, JarodandParkerforever, for reading and reviewing. I'm glad you like it and well thanks. Gossip, eh? That's lovely. High school. Again. *yawns* Yes, I am on twitter but I don't interact a whole lot. I use an alias there too (yet another Centre project; hint: leave it written). I think my pictures will give me away- also, I'm a twin peaks fan.

Reviewer: JarodAndParkerForever Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 24/07/13 09:48 pm
Title: Shades of J

I should have known that when you rate 'R' your story, you really mean it:):)

Jarod is a real freak here and I can't wait to see whether M.P. is going to pay him for all this:)



Author's Response:

Hi, Kama, thanks for reading and reviewing. Oh, yes, R means R. Always.  Jarod has grown into a true freak in this fic. Oh, yes, Kama, I believe Parker is going to return the *ahem* favor (favors) to Jarod. Coming soon.

Reviewer: Kama Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 22/07/13 07:33 pm
Title: Warmer?

Holy hell, Mirage. That was freaking amazing and hot! And amazingly well written. I agree with Twisted. Craig and Steven should employ you! Update all your fics soon PLEASE!!! I'm going to eat some fruit some. Lol.



Author's Response:

Haha, thanks for reading and reviewing, Dark One. Again, I appreciate the kindness but- well, it's embarrassing. The bowels of literature. I think you guys feel sorry for me? Or this is a joke? Or shall I abandon fan fic and submit original work somewhere? I suddenly want to be a writer MORE than I want to be the sweeper that drags Jarod back to the Centre! (I fear I have snow ball's chance in hell of either happening). Ah! I digress. Fruit is good for you! An apple a day...

Reviewer: TheDarkAngel Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 21/07/13 05:29 am
Title: Shades of J

I have no idea what to say... I was sitting for 5min thinking 'what just happened?' after reading the last chapter... 

Update... soon please...

I'll never look the same at fruits...



Author's Response:

Thanks for reading and reviewing, Nathalie. I know. Shame on me for using fruit. I will update soon.

Reviewer: Nathalie Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 21/07/13 02:20 am
Title: Warmer?

WOW! That was worth the wait! So f-ing HOT! Jarod is a true sociopath in this. I hope at some point Miss Park regains control and tortures HIS ass!

I so much enjoy your writing. Steve and Craig really should employ you as a writer in some capacity in this new journey of theirs. You are the only one worthy of it.

As always thanks so much for writing and even more important updating which must be hard considering how many stories you have.

Please please PLEASE Dom Mirage, don't make me wait to long for the next chapter of this! It would be TORTURE!

Author's Response:

Thank you, twisted, for reading and reviewing. You're right: Jarod deserves some sweet torture too; that should be great fun indeed!

Now, now, twisted, Craig and Steven are professionals. They are The Pretender writers. I, on the other hand, write fan fic. Haha. See? I'm only a pretend writer. Don't get me wrong: it would be an incredible opportunity (even to write on a voluntary basis with them) with, of course, the added bonus of truly loving one's job. Sounds lovely! Sign me up.

Apologies. I must torture you for a little while (I have other fics to update) longer. I will update this in the coming weeks.

Thanks again, twisted

~Dungeon Mistress Mirage

Reviewer: twisted Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 20/07/13 02:51 pm
Title: Warmer?

Mirage I don't know what to say only that I love this and oh my god!!! The things you describe make me feel so strange. I can see this happen!! I lvoe your writing style.PLease update all your fics soon. I will reading you no mater what happens with the continuniation I feel sure Craig and steven can't do any better!!!



Author's Response:

Thanks, MlleParker, for reading and reviewing. The things I write ARE strange so it's perfectly natural to feel so. ( Bourbon helps.) Ah, now, on the contrary: Craig and Steven actually do this for a living; they are pros. That's more than I can say for me. I read these types of reviews and feel like I'm being made the butt of some joke. I wish I were a truly gifted writer (Shirley Jackson, Parker, Whetley, O'Connor, King, James, et cetera). Perhaps "practice" will eventually "make perfect". Until then, I remain in literary purgatory.

Reviewer: MlleParker Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 20/07/13 11:27 am
Title: Shades of J

So I decided to buy 50 Shades of Grey out of curiosity... pretty good book I think... but what was my surprise when in the middle of book two a familiar name came to view... the name of Grey's assistant... Andrea... Parker? Thought it was funny since I bought the books after reading this FF :)

Please update soon Mirage, I'm sure you're really busy but you're one of those writers we cannot stop reading :)

Reviewer: Nathalie Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 13/11/12 11:46 am
Title: Shades of J

Chapter two was awesome to! Can't go wrong with sex when you write it so well...d we don't mind how dirty it gets. You just gotta have faith in yourself. Please update soon.

Reviewer: Christoph Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/10/12 11:17 pm
Title: Shades of J

:) I'm not a fan of smut but your fics are extremely well done, and easy to follow. They are eloquent and clear... you have a firm grasp of these characters.. your stories are believable. I hope you never stop writing.:) Thnx for sharing your imagination and supporting authors by reviewing. :)

Reviewer: Angel Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/10/12 09:36 am
Title: Shades of J

This will actually be my THIRD attempt at a review! I read Chapter One whilst returning from the Folsom Street Fair so it was at the time very apropos. I reviewed Chapter Two earlier as well but evidently it doesn't work on Androids! Hence this my third attempt.

LOVE this story!! Have had many a fantasy about Jarod and Miss Parker in various S&M and B&D scenarios [of course MP was always the Dominatrix in them! :-) ].

Thank you for this! I am very much looking forward to reading more. And thanks as always for not only writing but taking the time to update and finish. It is VERY much appreciated!!

Reviewer: twisted Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 03/10/12 03:07 am
Title: Shades of J

Girl..or do you perfer master?..I can't stop reading this! Had to grab the boyfriend after last chappie and Jarod hasn't touched her yet other than to massage! Very erotic! And love Parker's reactions and Jarod's near loss of control. Thank whoever you overheard talking about shades. lol Lol @ your chapter 1 review repsonse.

 



Author's Response:

I prefer Master. Ha. Thanks again for reading and reviewing.

Reviewer: TheDarkAngel Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/10/12 02:24 am
Title: Shades of J

Ooh, smut biscuit time and they are so in character, uhhyum. I love this already! Thanks for keeping our favorite show alive with your stories.

Reviewer: LD Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/10/12 06:34 am
Title: Ties That Bind

WOW!

Even better than Chapter One which I just noticed my review for was not posted! :-( Which is too bad as I read it coming home from the Folsom Street Fair do it was quite apropos!

I LOVE this story! I have long imagined various S&M and B&D scenarios for J/MP. Of course in most of them MP was the Dom!

Thank you for this. Looking forward to more! And as always thank you for not only writing but updating and finishing!!

Author's Response:

Ah, the Folsom Street Fair. That sounds like fun. Darn. I live on the wrong coast. Well, I'm glad that you are loving this. Thanks for reading and reviewing, Twisted.

Reviewer: twisted Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 30/09/12 05:46 pm
Title: Ties That Bind

As always Mirage,
brilliant story, and it fits so well. i read fifty shades .
then , I was wondering why there is no J & P story, but now thanks Mirage.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, Preity.

Reviewer: Preity Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 29/09/12 03:24 pm


Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.