Title: jacta alea est! (The Die Is Cast)

 

It's been a while since we've heard anything from you. I was hoping for an update but now I only hope that everything is ok with you. When you don't surface I get some anxiousness. My favorite female authors have some bad things in common and you are now another favorite female author and... I don't know. I think of Virginia Wolff and Anne Sexton and ... I really love Sylvia Plath too. The troubled genius syndrome I think is what causes people to write to start with and then to commit suicide... I don't know.. but I hope you're ok.

Hey but ok I love this so much. I love this chapter. I love your skill. You are so talented. You add so much texture and so much depth and more character & relationship development and I swear no one does it as good as you do.

I always think of Jarod and the character but Michael too and how he acts. You are amazing the way you bring him to life. I see Michael and Andrea... all of them. Oh, I'd love to interview Michael so much and I already even have a bunch of questions but I think I'd be shy or faint or just giggle becausee... you know, it's Michael T. Weiss . !!! 

I'll have to get someone else to do the asking but I'd like to talk to him a little bit.  Hey you could do it for me! I'd like to meet you anyway. I'm not even kidding. I'm so serious. I know you won't do it but I had to ask you.

I want to ask him about his acting and certain roles.. those dark roles!!!! Iowa. 2000 Malibu Road. Freeway. So what do you think about his acting, his role choices, why those characters? I've heard actors say they enjoyed playing certain roles and there are people who think it reflects something else. Do you think some actors live out in movies what they want to do but can't do in real life? Like crimes and stuff?

And I hear that writing is about what you know and to learn about something or to work things out so do you think the same applies to acting? And is that why you write.. since I'm here and all? You've done some acting... what was that like? Were you like the characters you played? I'm curious about everything.

If so then hey is he like... you know?...You know what I mean? What do you think? I'm such an obsessed fangirl sometimes.


Author's Response:

No worries, Christoph. That won't be a problem because I'm not a genius.

Um. He- really, he's tall and I suppose that can be intimidating, however, he is human, too. He seems okay. Really. The dark roles? Aside from Jarod, you mean? I'm aware of the others. Some evil person sent a particularly gruesome clip to my email inbox and it played automatically and I couldn't make it stop. Oh, fun. I have seen enough. I don't watch much of anything. God. Wow. I read questions like this and feel like I should apologize to the man. Really. I'm so not comfortable answering questions that--- aren't mine to answer. Yes. You are obsessed and it's a little scary. We shouldn't be talking about the players at all. Ever. Please be respectful and talk only about Broots & gang, the series, plot.

I can speak for myself and answer the question regarding my small stage acting. I've never had a desire to live out crimes vicariously through a character. I'm nothing like the characters --- I was Becky (yes. Becky. I'm serious) once, a ditzy babysitter. I was Becky because it's acting and it can be challenging and it can be uncomfortable and I'm not completely bad at it. Not because I wanted to be Becky.

Also, the roles/plays/films are typically already written. Yes, blame the writers (they are evil haha).

Thanks for reading and reviewing.

Reviewer: Christoph Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 18/01/18 04:44 am
Title: Reticeo (Unsaid). (id est) (In Other Words).

Off for the holidays and came here first and was so pleased to see you here! I love this story and the ending was beautiful. I LOVE LOVE LOVE that in this last chapter Parker put her stamp of approval on Jarod's crime in the first chapter. I freaking HATE rapists and I can tell you don't like them much either.... the alligators tearing one apart gave you away lol. I think you are one of those people who write to try to understand but I remember that in Forces Of Nature, you the narrator said Parker couldn't possibly understand something (her father thinking men will commit rape & incest given enough incentive) that no sane person could understand. But still we try because we want to stop those things from happening and we think if we understand it we can cure it. But some days when the ugliness is too much we think screw it,  it's easier to feed them to alligators... Anyway just random thoughts. Thanks for not having them so cheesy... you do a good job with bringing them closer in a way that is realistic and in keeping with the original tv series and I can't tell you how much I appreciate that because I don't have a talent for writing. You do and I hope you'll share it with us forever. Congrats on completing another bloody fantastic story. 

Reviewer: The Miss Parker Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 20/12/17 10:10 pm
Title: Reticeo (Unsaid). (id est) (In Other Words).

I was reading but stopped and began crying when I read "pain should either subside or kill." Another poignant and devastating phrase was "free fall through darkness. Slow death." Thse words oyou write to describe pain and sufering Mirage hurt my heart. They seem deeply personal. I hope you are doing well. I don't where this ability to write so vividly about pain comes from but.. I hope you are well. Thanks for this story. It was lovely. I love that Parker said Jarod was just. It's a story of love and forgiveness and so much pain and loss. Stay well Mirage.

Reviewer: Jen Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/12/17 10:33 pm
Title: Reticeo (Unsaid). (id est) (In Other Words).

Best way to start the weekend! An update from mirage! It's reassuring to come on here every month or so and like clockwork find an update from you. Nice to know we can count on some things.

As I have said countless times before ( but it merits repeating ) I love the way you write Miss Parker and Jarod. You keep them alive for us and you write them as well as (if not better) than Craig and Steven.

Please keep them coming (updates as well as stories) and happy holidays!

Reviewer: twisted Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 08/12/17 11:43 pm
Title: Reticeo (Unsaid). (id est) (In Other Words).

Your writing blows me away. Seriously. You capture Jarod and Miss Parker and their complex relationship like no other and bring all the loose ends together and weave such an amazing story. Above all they care about each other and they each demonstrate that in their unique way. They lost so much, lost themselves Mirage but losing everything brought them together. Love is many things and there are so many ways to say it and show it. They've shown it. I wouldn't call this a love story ... I don't want to offend you... but this was a story of love. I hope that's okay. I love this. The conclusion isn't... it's a beginning. I just-- guhh.. I see why MP finds words insufficient. I will say You are an exceptional writer. Thank you for sharing your talent with us. Please continue to write.

Reviewer: Joni Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/12/17 09:15 pm
Title: Reticeo (Unsaid). (id est) (In Other Words).

Oh, God yes. Mirage you a are a virtuoso, a paragon of genius. I love that the answer to the title is 'each other' and that their language is their own, and they communicate love in their own way. Love ...in other words. Thank you. Congratulations on finishing another fabulous fic.

Reviewer: TheDarkAngel Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/12/17 08:26 pm
Title: Dum inter homines sumus, colamus humanitatem (As long as we are among humans, let us be humane) AKA Serva me, servabo te (Save me and I will save you)

Woot woot! Thank you Mirage. This is so relevant what Jarod has been through and just 2 weeks ago, Linkin Park, Taylor Swift. Having a pussygrabber in the oval office isn't helping anyone....it's the year of the rapist.I guess stories like this are always relevant. Your writing style and voice is super amazing. No one and I mean NO ONE writes these characters in the character the way the are on the tv show...which is what I want... Michael, Andrea, Patrick, Jon. Big thanks for keeping them real.

You rock sweetie. Keep rocking and keep writing. Thanks for updating and for sharing your talent with us. You are my favorite genius. Peace and love.

 

Reviewer: Miss Parkere Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 16/08/17 11:46 pm
Title: Dum inter homines sumus, colamus humanitatem (As long as we are among humans, let us be humane) AKA Serva me, servabo te (Save me and I will save you)

That was an unpredictable twist to say the least. First I have to applaud you for casting light on a crime too often ignored and left in the dark and doing it respectfully and with all the seriousness it deserves. I understand based on real life events and fromfiction you've penned in the past that sex crimes are difficult for all victims, that most or all feel some sense of shame but I think it would be more difficult for a man because it seems to be an attack on masculinity and some people even think the male victim might be gay after that kind of abuse and so men are even more often likely to remain quiet and never speak a word about the abuse.

Somehow I feared you would gloss over the rape and multiple abuses and that Jarod would be fine and behave as if nothing happened. Because in the previous chapter he showed up and sort of tried to take control. But that was an act and Parker saw through it. Jarod isn't fine. He's a human, he's been through hell. He's barely hanging on here and that's plausible, it's reality. Many families reject the victim... most people don't know that. You reveal the horrible aftermath.

This is stunning.

I know you are a rational woman but I also know you aren't a Jarod fan and don't seem to be screaming love for Michael T Weiss either. I get it. You aren't a fan girl and you're cool headed. I get it now. Before I thought you hated Jarod... you let Parker emasculate Jarod in most fics and I always thought maybe you enjoyed it a bit. But I see now that I was wrong. You've been correctly characterizing her ... so I apologize. He's still very capable in this fic even if falling apart. And she tells him to take off his shoes instead of doing it for him...which proves he's capable. Broken but alive and still a man.

Parker shines in this chapter. Her compassion was beautiful to read. She came through for him as we know she's capable of but rarely saw in the series. You handled this skillfully. You handled the topic with delicacy.

More, please? Until next time Mirage...

Reviewer: Michael Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/08/17 09:34 pm
Title: Dum inter homines sumus, colamus humanitatem (As long as we are among humans, let us be humane) AKA Serva me, servabo te (Save me and I will save you)

Sorry... didn't sign in this time. Mirage I f-ing love this! They hurt each other so well and they care about each other so well. I don't know where to begin. Parker tries to stop him from drinking the coffee he just seasoned with what should have been sugar...that scene as is everything you write so realistic and plausible. She is so good at concealing her feelings but seeing Jarod broken and hearing those words, that he doesn't trust anyone at all.. cracked my heart open Mirage. He keeps hurting her because he's so hurt right now. You...I don't know how you do it how you capture the essence, the mystery, the emotions, the spirit... of Jarod, Parker, Pretender. You own them girl and you do right by them and me. Thank you for wrting, for sharing. Thank you for continuing when it gets hard, when you want to stop when you hate this ship that your muses sail for us when you see icebergs everywhere and the boat is taking on water. Into the sunset. Can we go? I know you can do it.

I came here to escape reality.. a possible nuclear war. You didn't disappoint. I think I'll stay for a while.

Reviewer: The Miss Parker Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/08/17 11:20 pm
Title: Dum inter homines sumus, colamus humanitatem (As long as we are among humans, let us be humane) AKA Serva me, servabo te (Save me and I will save you)

Ahhhh I love it. Parker is being humane. They are saving each other so to speak. Magical. Your writing is magical. She's right. It doesn't matter now. They've come to the end of tragedy to find that the petty crap, chase and lies never mattered.

Finally.

This is shaping up to be my favorite show ending.

Thank you Mirage. Thank you from all of my heart.

Reviewer: Gunner Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/08/17 06:05 pm
Title: Dum inter homines sumus, colamus humanitatem (As long as we are among humans, let us be humane) AKA Serva me, servabo te (Save me and I will save you)

"Says the guy who can't remember when he last slept" oh my my my my my!!! I so agree with Parker. Jarod says "You're not" and then "Oh my god you are" lol I think that hesitance and fear is fitting. Wonderful Mirage as always. The characterisations were spot on. I LOVE your writing. It means so much. Congrats!

Reviewer: Chloe Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/08/17 12:34 am
Title: jacta alea est! (The Die Is Cast)

Thank GOD you're back! This was just... I have no words. Beyond amazing.

When Parker says 'your mother believes you're dead' and Jarod replies 'she isn't wrong' I nearly died for him. I thought at first that Cox had infected him with HIV or something like that and he was dying. But he was talking about what rape does to a person. It kills something inside.

It's a sensitive topic rape is and you always bring the facts to life. What Parker says and does for Jarod is what every victim needs to hear. I don't know how you know all of that, how you knew to have her say what he needed to hear but you knew and I love you for writing respectfully about this topic. And you did it despite not being a Jarod fan or a follower of Michael's work or whatever. Parker knew she couldn't let him leave. She pulled a Jarod on him really, did what Jarod does.

What is really poignant and profound is that he'd had just enough strength left in him to try to save her. He wanted to save someone and thought it should be her because she can't talk about Luc still. He used it all up trying to save her if I'm not mistaken here. Had he gone to help anyone else in 'savior mode' he might have died 'drowned' doing it. But because it was Parker, she saw and she's trying to save him. Oh god. You're not a shipper?!

It is heartbreaking and beautiful.

If you were writing the novels I'd buy them and that's all I'll say because I don't want you to be pissed at me. I'm not insulting the creators. I'm telling the truth and trying to help sales.

More please?

Reviewer: TheDarkAngel Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/08/17 07:01 pm
Title: Dum inter homines sumus, colamus humanitatem (As long as we are among humans, let us be humane) AKA Serva me, servabo te (Save me and I will save you)

Yay!

A Mirage update! ALWAYS worth waiting for but I was getting worried. I know the 'real' world can be very busy but this fictional world has missed you!

GREAT chapter (as usual). I've said it before but I truly believe Steven and Craig need to let you write the ending to thr series.

EVERY time I read one of your stories you make Miss Parker and Jarod come alive again! So thank you for that!

But this chapter was so profoundly moving! They have both suffered so much pain. Together and Separately. They need each other. As Steven and Craig write they are 'missing pieces'.

Can't wait to find out ( I know I'll have too) find out what happens next!

Thank you again for this and ALL your stories!

 

Reviewer: Anonymous Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 05/08/17 01:51 pm
Title: Sic vita est (Such Is Life)

Don't have time to leave a large review but this was fabulous Mirage. Just wanted to let you know and please keep going. So glad you are back. Missed you so much. Beautiful work here.

Reviewer: Jen Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/08/17 06:14 am
Title: Dum inter homines sumus, colamus humanitatem (As long as we are among humans, let us be humane) AKA Serva me, servabo te (Save me and I will save you)

YAYS! You've been missed m'dear!  Eloquently written. Mirage you know how to turn a phrase!! I love that they care for each other so obviously. Jarod is so tormented and Parker is so hurt. Good on her for not buying his acts...plural. He kept changing faces there, one skin into another and she called him out! I love that.

"I'd cherish each piece and I'd try to love him back together"

"Jarod was never supposed to be broken"

You made me cry again Mirage.

Even the close of the chapter was gorgeous with her keeping him safe. Hasn't she always? She never shot him. She went back to the Centre to save him. She killed Cox for him. Oh Mirage. They are saving each other. I am crying.

Thank you so much for this.

Love, C!

 

Reviewer: Christoph Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/08/17 09:23 pm
Title: jacta alea est! (The Die Is Cast)

Can you please please please update this soon Mirage? I'm dying to know what will happen now? Jarod taking Miss Parker home is a thought that is driving me nuts. I hope you're ok and I know you're busy but I love your writing, your voice, your ability to flesh out the characters and breathe life into them and plausibility. You are missed big time.  :( Please come back.

Reviewer: Jen Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 29/07/17 07:42 pm
Title: jacta alea est! (The Die Is Cast)

I was reading the reviews just now and your responses. You said the tension seems mostly Jarod-generated but doesn't that mean Michael T. Weiss generated? Or do you separate the two? I get so curious sometimes. You don't have to answer. I study sociologoy and anthropology. I asked uncomfortable questions. I'm awkward. :)



Author's Response:

Hi, Xena. I had to go back and read again. No, Jarod-generated is what I intended to type. I never assume that a player behaves or reacts the same as the character. It's acting. I guess it never occured to me that a player might be as overbearing or tension-generating as the character they portray. Yikes.

I've never really given this one a lot of thought obviously. I suppose I do separate character and player. I don't mind the question. It's not uncomfortable. You're not awkward at all.

Reviewer: Xena Signed [Report This]
Date: 25/05/17 10:30 pm
Title: Sic vita est (Such Is Life)

Fabulous story and eloquetly written. You're a wordsmith Mirage. I love how unforced it all seems. Please update soon.

Reviewer: Xena Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 25/05/17 10:27 pm
Title: jacta alea est! (The Die Is Cast)

This is another fantastic and profound chapter, Mirage. You've taken these characters. Thank you for not allowing these characters and their stories to die. I'm always stunned by the quality of writing and your ability to flesh out the characters and illustrate with words. It's a painful chapter, a painful story, and yet it is beautiful. Thank you for sharing with us. 

Reviewer: Michael Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/05/17 05:42 pm
Title: Sic vita est (Such Is Life)

LOVE this chapter and the entire story. Amazing. Tell me something, Mirage. Do you think specifically about these actors when you're writing because to most if not all of us in the fandom we view Michael T. Weiss and Andrea Parker as Jarod and Miss Parker. There can be no other Jarod and Miss Parker, no other actor/ress could fill those shoes. When I read you I see Michael and Andrea fleshed out as Jarod and Miss Parker. Do you like hold Michael in your mind when you write about Jarod for instance? Or do you watch reruns? I want to know what drives you to write and how you are able to so perfectly capture the characterizations of not just Jarod and Miss Parker but the other characters? Now I think about it I know you write and create original characters and flesh out beautifully too. I am curious if you consider the actors, their feelings and thoughts or if it's all limited to the characters. I know in the past you seem uncomfortable talking about the actors and maybe that's changed? I don't know how you separate them or if you do. Like I said I am curious about you. You are a mirage Mirage.

I enjoy your responses and I haven't emailed you in a while. Please respond to this and be as lengthy as you want in your response. Please continue with this story and all of your stories. You are the reason I check in here. I love your work.

Reviewer: Con-O Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 25/04/17 03:36 am
Title: Sic vita est (Such Is Life)

Bravo! Mirage you keep up-ping the game here. It's so strange to say that fanfic is far and away much better than the official Pretender novels soooo I have no choice but to say what you write is not fan fic. You are my official author for Pretender fictions. I love you. Please update soon.

Reviewer: d_el1 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 25/04/17 01:48 am
Title: jacta alea est! (The Die Is Cast)

You are a breath of fresh air Mirage. Please continue.

Reviewer: Miss Parkere Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 24/04/17 08:20 pm
Title: jacta alea est! (The Die Is Cast)

Mirage Mirage Mirage Mirage ...your name I say like a prayer...like Jarod whispers Parker's name in your beautiful stories. Heartbreaking and beautiful Mirage I love you. Your prose is eloquent and lovely, your plotting is second to none and the dialog and characterisations...I mean really who bothers to write so well anymore? Only you. No one writes the characters the way they were on the televised series and telefilms EXCEPT YOU. I feel and see them and breathe them. It's like Michael and Andrea together speaking and gesturing and me watching nearby. It's magic.  Thank you for that. More please?

Reviewer: Gunner Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 23/04/17 10:44 pm
Title: Sic vita est (Such Is Life)

'someone' should NEVER complain about how long it takes you to update because unlike most author's on this site you DO update. Also, they should keep in mind that you have several open stories (five by last count) which cements you as the most prolific writer on missing pieces.

With every story you write you keep The Pretender alive and I thank you for that!

This chapter was heartbreaking. So much history and emotion between Miss Parker and Jarod. They never seem to catch a break ( in this as in the series).

But I'll be awaiting the next chapter no matter how long it takes!

As always thank you for writing and updating!

Reviewer: twisted Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 22/04/17 12:40 pm
Title: jacta alea est! (The Die Is Cast)

This came together beautifully. I can't even tell you didn't want to write it. It's not forced. So natural Mirage. I want more. Update soon.

Reviewer: Chloe Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 21/04/17 07:41 pm


Enter the security code shown below:
Note: You may submit either a rating or a review or both.